There are new Virginia gun laws on the books, some of which will impact gun owners and those looking to purchase a firearm.
The state’s new fiscal year begins on July 1, and that means new laws. This year’s additions include laws pertaining to smoking in the car with children, rescuing dying animals from hot cars and you guessed it- gun ownership.
On the full list of passed bills, we see that Virginia will now recognize all valid concealed handgun or concealed weapon permits and licenses issued by other states, according to Virginia State Police.
That recognition will depend on the following requirements:
1. The holder of such permit or license is at least 21 years of age; and
2. The permit or license holder carries a photo identification issued by a government agency of any state or by the U.S. Department of Defense or U.S. Department of State; and
3. The holder displays the permit or license and such identification upon demand by a law-enforcement officer; and
4. The permit or license holder has not previously had a Virginia concealed handgun permit revoked.
“Although the new law requires Virginia to grant recognition to all states that issue permits, other states are not required to recognize or authorize Virginia permit holders to possess a firearm in their state,” noted a Virginia State Police spokesperson.
Also starting July 1, people who want to privately buy or transfer firearm(s) at a gun show in Virginia can request a criminal background check on the buyer. State Police will be available at every firearms show in Virginia to conduct those checks, which will cost $2 and take about three minutes.
Click here for information about what it takes to be eligible to buy a gun in Virginia.